‪#‎challengeonphotography : Scenes from of Downeast Maine

CAROLYN’S ONLINE MAGAZINe (#COMe)

‪#‎challengeonphotography 

SCENES FROM DOWNEAST MAINE

TAKEN FROM MY NOVEL-UNDER-CONSTRUCTION:

SHE SAW HER PROMISED LAND

In February I was nominated by Westmoreland Photographer Society (Latrobe, PA) member Jeff Zehner to participate in a ‪#‎challengeonphotography . I was to post 7 geology/nature photos (one for each day for 7 days), helping to flood Facebook with natural beauty.

There are moments when all anxiety and stated toil are becalmed in the infinite leisure and repose of nature. —Henry David Thoreau

For my challenge I posted a series of 7 photos taken in the Mt. Desert Island/Lamoine Beach/Schoodic Mountain area of Maine. This is part of the ‘promised land’ Rosalie de Leval climbed Schoodic Mountain to see in October, 1791. These photos represent the location of my French and Irish ancestry, as well as a chief site in my novel-under-construction, She Saw Her Promised Land.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

NOTE: The WordPress photography challenge for March 25,2016, was Share a photograph inspired by a favorite…story. Bonus points if you share why the particular text resonates with you. I must say that my favorite story—or, on the other hand, my most challenging story—is my novel-under-construction, She Saw Her Promised Land. The series of photographs I shared for ‪#‎challengeonphotography are views the characters in my historic novel, and the views my ancestors, would have experienced in the 1790s and early 1800s.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Day 1: The first photo was a sunset scene taken across the point where the Narrows (separating Mt. Desert Island from the mainland) meets Frenchman Bay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Day 2: A view of Cadillac and other mountains on Mt. Desert Island, as seen from Lamoine Park, Maine (taken across the point where the Narrows separates Mt. Desert Island from the mainland and the narrows meet Frenchman Bay).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Day 3: Cadillac Mountain on Mt. Desert Island, as seen from Lamoine Beach, Maine (taken across the point where the Narrows separates Mt. Desert Island from the mainland and the narrows meet Frenchman Bay).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Day 4: Schoodic Mountain (across the Narrows, left mountain), which Rosalie climbed in 1791, and I climbed in 2006, 215 years later. This mountain view was taken from the Mt. Desert Island beach beside the Ovens. (taken across the point where the Narrows separates Mt. Desert Island from the mainland and the narrows meet Frenchman Bay).

NOTE: The WordPress writing prompt for March 5, 2016, was connection. My climbing Schoodic Mountain, especially in October, connected me with the main character in my novel, She Saw Her Promised Land, in a way no other experience could accomplish. That I also walked the land she walked on, and walked in the waters she sailed in, further connected me with not only with Rosalie, but with other formerly-living characters in the novel—for example, I could connect with my ancestors Louis des Isles and Mary Googins especially when visiting the cemetery they are interred in, and where, one year, I feasted on a harvest of wild blueberries growing there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Day 5: An aerial view of Schoodic Mountain, which Rosalie climbed in 1791, and I climbed in 2006, 215 years later. We both saw Rosalie’s ‘promised land’ from the rocky top of this mountain.

5 080922 IMG_5993E

Day 6: Today’s was taken on top of Schoodic Mountain, Maine. Beyond the cairn (stone monument) you can see the ‘promised land’ contracted to Rosalie de Leval by land speculators Gen. Henry Knox and Col. William Duer. She climbed the mountain in 1791, and I climbed in 2006, 215 years later.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Day 7: I began this ‪#‎challengeonphotography with a sunrise over Mt. Desert Island. I’ll end with a view of the sunset photo across the Jordan River in Lamoine, Maine.

7 130930 IMG_7422E

~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope you enjoyed this little tour of Downeast, Maine.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL/MEMOIR, NEW ENGLAND, Novel, PHOTOGRAPHY, Photography photos, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‪#‎challengeonphotography : Scenes from of Downeast Maine

  1. Ed cope says:

    Beautiful images. Keep up the good work

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Pingback: half-light (elevenrh Earl of Mar) | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

