Taking Practice Pictures of Water Drops

Carolyn’s Online Magazine (#COMe)

HOW DO YOU TAKE PICTURES OF WATER DROPS?

THE WESTMORELAND PHOTOGRAPHY SOCIETY

ANSWERS THE QUESTION

After I attended a Westmoreland Photographers Society meeting…then,..what to my wondrous eyes should appear that very next morning…but a WordPress one-word writing prompt: drop.

After the business part of the Society’s March 14, 2016, meeting there was a hands-on session for the 35 attendees. I headed to the corner I was most interested in—taking photos of water drops. I’ve tried taking photos, with relative amateurish success, of raindrops hitting my patio during heavy rainstorms, or the splash they make when hitting the stream of water running down my driveway during said heavy rainstorms.  The results bring out a desire to get these neat effects in better focus.

and a raindrop hits a patio floor

I’ve also taken photos of raindrops splatting on our car windshield while my husband drives down the road at 50-70 miles per hour.

160316 IMG_3576E

A scenery photo my trigger finger really likes is one that produces many drops of water, shooting high in the air from the impact of a wave crashing violently against the rocks along the coast of New England.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thus, I headed to the corner where Society member Paul Valerio had a make-shift setup to allow Society members to practice shooting raindrops.

160314 IMG_3470E

Paul posts the neatest water drop photos on Facebook. He certainly shows he has something to teach others about how to do it.

10365434_10204411644806155_8902508718136353351_o

The corner of the room had a strange setup that allowed a water drop to fall into a water ‘pond.’ A tripod was opened in the appropriate spot, and the settings were posted on the chalk board (excuse the poor photography—I didn’t expect to be posting the pictures I took of the meeting, and was only shooting them for my own record).

160314 IMG_3435E

All I had to do was fix our camera settings and shoot away, catching the water drops as they plunked into the water.

That comes to another story. The core group members know I’m technologically and electronically challenged. I allowed Paul to fix the settings on my camera and my trigger finger actually produced a couple of decent shots.

Off to my photo editing. Here’s one result, with a little photo editing play on the side:

160314 IMG_3459E

160314 IMG_3446EE

And here’s a second:

160314 IMG_3451E

160314 IMG_3451EE

Now I need a good heavy rainstorm. I can refer to the settings on the chalk board and, using my tripod, try to catch some raindrops—which won’t all land in the same predictable spot as Paul’s setup produced. However, if I shoot 100 photos I might get one acceptable one.

Oh, I forgot to mention. For assistance with the technical aspect I will call on my husband Monte. After all, I won’t become any more technologically able between now and the next rainstorm than I’ve become in the past 20 years of attending photography club meetings.

I want to thank Paul for setting up something I’m really trying to perfect. Because my mind absorbs information on a limited basis, I didn’t attempt to confuse it by visiting the other stations, which included food and close up photos. The photographers setting up these stations deserve my appreciation also—thanks, everyone, for a very good meeting.

For those of you out there who want to accomplish something challenging, might I add persistence is the key. Keep trying. Eventually, even if by chance, you might succeed.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in PHOTOGRAPHY, Photography photos, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

