Sally’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

SALLY’S

OATMEAL/PEANUT BUTTER/CHOCOLATE CHIP

COOKIE RECIPE

My sister Sally makes the best oatmeal/peanut butter/chocolate chip cookies. I tasted them a few years ago when visiting her in Blasdell, New York (anyone from Blasdell reading this should know where she lives—do not stampede to her house when you hear about these cookies—I don’t want to be responsible for her demise).

In December 2014 she sent me a box of these cookies for Christmas. I used the cookies as a reward for writing my novel, She Saw Her Promised Land (formerly titled Intertwined Love). Each day I completed 3 hours work I allowed myself one cookie. They lasted well into spring, staying fresh up to the end.

However, I was aghast that it cost her $24 for postage to mail me this treat. I told her never to do that again. Instead, she should make them when I’m visiting the Buffalo area and I would take them with me.

Thus, when I was in Buffalo in mid-September 2015 I received a heavy box, an early birthday gift while attending my older sister’s birthday celebration. Even though Lee begged me to open the box so she could taste the cookies I wouldn’t do it.

151204 IMG_2137E

Before continuing I want to express my great gratitude to my youngest sister for her great contribution toward finishing my novel (it may take another decade, Sally, so be prepared). And she told me she would send me the recipe so I could make my own (where’s the support?) and share the recipe with others through my online magazine…which you’re reading now—so she wouldn’t have to make so many cookies herself. The recipe below…

I was really disciplined. I didn’t open the cookies until December 10th, my birthday.

151210 IMG_2204E

151210 IMG_2210E

Then I ate one and gave one to my husband.

151210 IMG_2220E

Finally, I wrapped the rest in baggies, 9 bags of 10 each.

Cookies ready for rewarding novel writing

Cookies ready for rewarding novel writing

I ate my first one January 1, 2016, after putting my time in on writing my novel.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then Sally acquiesced. She sent me the recipe for her oatmeal/peanut butter/chocolate chip cookies to post for the world to benefit. I thought it would be good to share the recipe with the world in time for Valentine’s Day. A great treat for your guy or gal, certain to cement the romantic nature of the day (perhaps I’ll share one with my husband Monte).

I think she’s tired of making them for everyone and hopes they will now quit bugging her and make them themselves. She even included her special tweeks at the end of the recipe.

Sorry, Sally, but my oven balks when I approach it. I’m a stranger, it claims. Someone who doesn’t bake. So when I arrive in Buffalo next autumn you can give me my 2016 birthday gift.

E-MAIL FROM SALLY

So here goes with the famous cookies. I’ll give the recipe and after I’ll tell you how I tweek them to make them “my” cookies.

I should also warn you that if, after you make these cookies and share with friends and family, be prepared to make more. People will beg you for them.

SALLY’S

OATMEAL/PEANUT BUTTER/CHOCOLATE CHIP

COOKIES

Start with

1 ½ c. sugar

1 ½ c. light brown sugar

1 stick of softened butter

Mix all that well and add:

4 slightly beaten eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix with the sugars and butter and add:

2 c. of good peanut butter (a 16 oz jar is perfect and no need to measure).

Mix all that till smooth and add:

6 c. of oatmeal (I’ve used quick oats and regular oats. Really doesn’t make a difference)

2 ½ teaspoons of baking soda.

Mix all that with the peanut butter mixture (I find it’s actually easier to fold it all in and then stir) and add:

a 12 oz bag of chocolate chips.

Mix, then:

Spoon the batter onto ungreased cookie sheets. No need to roll into a ball. Just drop from the spoon.

Bake in 350 degree preheated oven for 10 to 11 minutes. Remove from the cookie sheets right away to cool.

SALLY’S TWEEKS

Now here are some of the things I do to make these cookies so good. It’s true, I have entered these in a cookie contest and won first place. My son’s first grade class presented me with a gold cup and a spot in their recipe book. I have been offered money to bake these and you can bet I took it. So try my tweeks and you’ll be a winner too.

  • I always pack the brown sugar tight and over flowing
  • I add a little extra splash of vanilla. I’ve used rum extract with the vanilla and it’s very good but I usually just stick to vanilla
  • then, and this is the best: along with the 2 cups of peanut butter I add a big heaping spatula of more peanut butter. This makes a huge difference trust me.

Other hints:

  • I’ve strayed from chocolate chips and used others. Don’t bother.
  • I never use a stand mixer. It’s all done by hand. Once you get to the step of adding the oatmeal the batter is hard to mix and this is when most people leave the cookie making up to me. Don’t give up. You’re almost done and the finished product is amazing.

And the most important hint I can give:

  • if anyone living near my sister Carolyn is making the cookies, keep it a secret.

Have fun. Let Sally and I know how you succeeded with the cookies by commenting in the box at the end of this post.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL/MEMOIR, RECIPES and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sally’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

  1. Jan Goodard says:

    We lived in Blasdell for a short time then moved to the Hamburg on the lake area. Graduated from Frontier HS. Didn’t realized when you talked about going to Buffalo that it was to my old stomping grounds.

    Like

    • Yes, Blasdell, Snyder, Lancaster, West Seneca, and Buffalo proper. We try to make it often but only make it rarely. I spent my teenage and college years in Buffalo, Kensington High School, Erie County Tec. Ins’t., and Univ of Bflo. graduate. Pre-Buffalo years were in Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

      Like

Leave a Reply

