Baked Eggs in Pepper Rings & Ham Croquettes: 2 Recipes

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

TWO RECIPES:

BAKED EGGS IN PEPPER RINGS

HAM CROQUETTES

While cleaning out boxes stored in my garage I found two copies of a booklet, Family fare — food management and recipes. I received one copy revised in 1960 from Congressman T. J. Dulski and the second copy of the same booklet, reprinted in June 1966, from Congressman Frank M. Black (as best I could make out the signature stamp). During both years I was single (until I wed September 3, 1966), living in Buffalo, New York.

Below are two recipes excerpted from these Home and Garden Bulletin No. 1, U. S. Department of Agriculture publications.

My friend Joanne McGough chose the first recipe for me. I chose the second recipe. It sounds easy enough to try for a midmorning breakfast. However, I do not like peppers, and wouldn’t make this meal for me. I might make it for my husband Monte or houseguests.

The fact that I don’t like peppers should not be a factor in cooking this dish for others who do like peppers, any more than staying away from an activity I’m not fond of, but others take part in, should direct my actions. As such I’ve attended baseball games and hockey matches. I always find a way to make the adventure interesting to me, and I find my enjoyment in being with my family.

BAKED EGGS IN PEPPER RINGS

1332604086501

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 large green pepper rings about ½ inch thick

4 eggs

Salt and pepper

4 tablespoons milk

Crumbs mixed with butter or margarine

COOK green pepper rings in lightly salted water for 5 minutes. Drain.

Place rings in hit greased shallow baking dish. Break an egg into each ring.

Sprinkle with salt and pepper . Pour a tablespoon of milk over each egg. Cover with crumbs.

Bake at 3500 F. (moderate oven) until eggs are set—20 to 25 minutes.

4 servings

ee489969efecf3e25b7394ac2ef71dbf

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although I don’t cook much now, I must try the following ham croquettes recipe when we have leftover ham. There are people, however, who never use leftovers but instead toss them away. Perhaps, in a world where hunger exists out of our daily experience, we take for granted the plenty we have on our daily table. This is a small world view. What is out of our experience still calls us to be stewards of God’s blessings bestowed on us.

 

HAM CROQUETTES

1879899

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 cups ground cooked ham

1 cup mashed potatoes

1 tablespoon chopped onion

1 tablespoon chopped parsley

Salt & pepper to taste

1 tablespoon water

1 egg beaten

Fine dry crumbs

Fat or oil for frying

COMBINE ham, potatoes, onion, and parsley. Add salt and pepper. Chill. Shape into eight croquettes.

Add water to egg. Dip croquettes into egg and roll in crumbs.

CHOOSE one of the following ways to cook the croquettes:

Pan-fry, French-fry, or bake croquettes.

To pan-fry: Brown croquettes in a little hot fat, turning to form a good crust all over.

To french-fry: Half fill a deep kettle with oil or melted fat. Heat to 3750 F. Place croquettes in a wire frying basket and cook in the hot fat until browned—3 to 5 minutes.

To bake: Shape mixture into flat cakes and dip in egg and roll in crumbs as above. Place in greased pan and bake at 4000 F. (hot oven) until browned on the bottom. Turn and brown other side.

4 servings.

Enjoy the fruits of your labor.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

PHOTO SOURCE

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/81452/ham-croquettes/photos/1879899/

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in RECIPES and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baked Eggs in Pepper Rings & Ham Croquettes: 2 Recipes

  1. merry101 says:

    Looks good but I’m not much of a cook. lol ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

