The Stroke of Midnight: New Year’s Resolutions 2016

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

THE STROKE OF MIDNIGHT:

NEW YEAR’S RESOLUTIONS 2016

The WordPress prompt for January 1, 2016, was: where were you last night at midnight.

On New Years Eve my husband Monte and I had dinner at my daughter’s house, then returned home, tired. I fell asleep at 11:45 pm and woke up at 12:15 am. Thus, at the stroke of midnight I was tucked cozy in my bed.

However, the moment 2015 turned into 2016 wasn’t neglected. I was probably in la-la land, a dream place having no time, reminiscing about 2015 and considering what resolutions I should make at the birth of 2016.

The Stroke of Midnight 2016

The Stroke of Midnight 2016

The lovely spring record-breaking weather of December—sporting 60 degree days and averaging 44.9 degrees—couldn’t last, as a couple of days dipped near-freezing and a terrific windstorm did much damage on the 28th and 29th. Attending this weather was a lack of snow—only 0.3 inches for the last month of 2015.

However, seasonal temperatures arrived on the 31st, boding signs of normal winter returning.

These thoughts ran through my mind as I reminisced about 2015.

The reminiscing moved on to the question of New Year’s resolution.

I must confess I look forward to the stroke of midnight as a time to change my old, unworkable patterns of life into something that produces positive results. It’s as if I expect the awakening New Year to somehow magically mark a change in my life journey—to turn my life about.

However, I also dread the resolutions because their consistency reminds me of incomplete resolutions from years past.

This being said, there is hope to complete some of the continuing resolutions in 2016 as life chugs along like a train never reaching its destination. Simply stated, in 2015 I advanced on several resolutions, which may bring them to a conclusion in 2016.

One resolution has held a top spot each New Year for 20 years: to complete my piano 80 key dolls. I’ve had all the parts made and the clothing sewn since 1994. In order to assemble them, however, I needed to paint the doll heads. Painting is not my forte. So, finally, last October 1st, a good friend Pat in Jamestown offered to paint them (except for the 3 sets of 3 I insisted I paint, with her help).Although my craft table didn’t get cleared off yet so my resolution to assemble the dolls this winter is off the table. However, I resolve to continue cleaning the garage when warmer spring weather arrives. Once that is somewhat complete, I resolve to assemble these dolls.

151001 IMG_9344E

As I reviewed my other 2015 resolutions there were many which have been on my list for a number of years. Cleaning my garage is one. It’s progressing, and with great discipline I resolve to finish the task by the end of summer.

Revisions must be made in the other uncompleted 2015 resolutions.

The top resolution for several years has been to complete the first draft of my very complex historical novel, She Saw Her Promised Land (formerly Intertwined Love). I’m certain many of you are convinced I won’t live long enough to complete it. However, considering the many complex learning curves I’ve had to stop to decipher along the way the novel isn’t really coming along too slowly. I resolve to write on the novel intensely for the first quarter of 2016, and to continue less intensely after that—hopefully yielding a first draft.

She Saw Her Promised Land...from the top of Schoodic Mountain, Maine

She Saw Her Promised Land…from the top of Schoodic Mountain, Maine

And oh, I a reward set up—a cookie each day I succeed in my writing goal. These most delicious peanut butter chocolate chip cookies were made by my sister Sally, who sent me the recipe, which I will post later in this magazine. It is a worthy reward.

Cookies ready for rewarding novel writing

Cookies ready for rewarding novel writing

As for launching Carolyn’s Online Magazine I feel some success, that it’s functioning adequately. However, I must increase the subscriptions. If you haven’t subscribed, please do. If you are a subscriber I encourage you to pass links to the articles you like to all your family and friends. My resolve is to double the subscribers by Easter.

I’m still trying understand FaceBook, but it is up and operational, with two groups I’ve started: Foothills Writers and Laurel Mountain Borough. In a future article I’ll share my thoughts comparing FB and blogging.

I resolve to continue facilitating the Foothills Writers, encouraging new and seasoned writers to be the best they can be.

I resolve to continue putting my house in order and working on losing weight.

I also resolve to repair and build relationships in 2016. This is the most important of the resolutions. We are asked to love our neighbors, and I missed doing a good job of this last year.

Do I need any new resolutions? I think not. These carried-over resolutions need to be worked on to make space for new ones. They are sufficient to keep me quite busy in 2016.

These were the thoughts rumbling around my head at the stroke of midnight. Upon awakening at 12:15 a. m. on the first day of January 2016 I recalled these thoughts and wrote them down. Their publication makes me more accountable for completing them.

I hope the success and non-successes of my past resolves and my review of my 2016 resolutions offers you a new perspective on New Year’s Resolutions.

I invite you to share your resolutions in the comment box at the end of this article. Thank you.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL/MEMOIR, New Year's Eve/Day, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Stroke of Midnight: New Year’s Resolutions 2016

  1. Pingback: The moon is beautiful, isn’t it? | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

