Santa Got Chewed Up By a Doggie

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

SANTA GOT CHEWED UP BY A DOGGIE

NOTE: The WordPress photo challenge for December 22, 2015, is to take a moment to embrace the “now,” sharing a photo of that moment.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Following a very busy pre-Christmas season my husband Monte and I were at our daughter’s house enjoying Christmas morning. Their boxer puppy, Apollo, loved a stuffed toy Santa Sandy and her husband Michael gave the doggie. We were all caught up in the “now,” the moment—or several moments—as we watched Apollo chase, toss, and chew his small Santa.

To prepare you for viewing the photos of this now moment I wrote the following verse, a take-off from the song Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

SANTA GOT CHEWED UP BY A DOGGIE

Santa got chewed up by a doggie

While leaving gifts at our house on Christmas Eve

You might say there’s no such thing as Santa

But me and my doggie Apollo know

Just after his last stop, my house,

He decided he should stay

Because he was exhausted and needed rest.

He fell asleep underneath our tree

Amidst our many gift boxes

Apollo saw him resting there

161225 IMG_4021E

Since Santa’s task was done Apollo shook him

In a joyous frenzy…Apollo killed him off.

151225 IMG_4005E

151225 IMG_3993E

151225 IMG_4048E

151225 IMG_4026E

151225 IMG_4051E

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Dogs, PHOTOGRAPHY, Photography photos, Wordpress photos, WORDPRESS PROMPTS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Santa Got Chewed Up By a Doggie

  1. cyndilenz says:

    I bought a little santa dog for my grandson. I got home and my dog barney stuck his giant golden head in the bag took it out and claimed it for his own.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Now | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

