First Snowfall Hits Buffalo Dec. 18, 2015

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

WINTER DESCENDS IN BUFFALO AND PENNSYLVANIA

DECEMBER 18-19, 2015

“I’m telling you: it’s snowing, snowing, snowing,” my older sister told me. “We’re supposed to get 5-8 inches of lake effect snow.”

This news wouldn’t be surprising if the Buffalo area weren’t breaking snowfall records for the second year in a row.

The start of this winter season couldn’t be more different from last year, when some areas of Buffalo and its suburbs experienced an unheard of 7 feet of snow in November, now referred to as “Snowvember” storm Also known as Knife—  Reports from Storm “Knife” in Buffalo, New York )

Contributed by Pat, West Seneca

Contributed by Pat, West Seneca

Contributed by Pat, West Seneca

Contributed by Pat,
West Seneca

On December 4, 2015, the National Weather Service announced a 116-year-old snow record (for measurable snowfall) was shattered—for a lack of snow. On December 4th the city had yet to see its first measurable snow, and there was no snow forecast until at least the middle of the month. The last time the city waited so long for at least a tenth of an inch of snow was in 1899, when it arrived on Dec. 3.

The weather in Buffalo seems to be schizophrenic. From 7 feet of snow one year to spring-like weather the next—all before December 18. There’s no predicting Mother Nature.

This year there was no snow forecast for Buffalo until at least mid-December. They were correct.

Lee’s call came December 18th, two weeks after the 116-year-old record was shattered and the chain of spring-like weather was broken.

It’s snowing on my dandelions  my youngest sister Sally, who lives in Blaisdell, pronounced on Facebook at 5:45 p. m. on December 18.. Lol… My daffodils are coming up in my backyard ! responded Lori.

When Lee called, and Sally posted on FB, the weather here in Laurel Mountain Borough (situated in the Ligonier Valley of PA) was remained spring-like. Forsythia were blooming and our cats were burrowing in mudholes.

Isn't this weather delicious?

Isn’t this weather delicious?

However, by the afternoon of December 19 we had a dusting of snow, enough to coat the car roof and the roof of our garage.

151218 900 PM IMG_2314E

At 9:15 p. m. the situation was the same. Because I neglected to photograph the white roofs, I did so in the dark. Then, at 11:15 p. m. I went to the back porch to let the cat in.

And what to my wondering eyes did I see?

SNOW

Perhaps an inch or so. I grabbed my camera and took a shot.

151218 IMG_3208EBy 8:00 in Saturday morning the snow was melting, leaving a brown-spotted driveway instead of a path of white blanket.

Cat walks in owner's footsteps.

Cat walks in owner’s footsteps.

It’s likely that Buffalo got more snowfall than we did, but I really liked not having to don boots and heavy clothes.

I understand the weather forecast for the rest of 2015 will be spring-like. I see it coming as the clouds in the sky are broken by blue patches and the sunrays make the remaining snow sparkle. I also understand we should not expect a white Christmas.

Still, winter isn’t over. All this leaves leave me wondering what the weather will be in January, February, and March. And I question if, with the topsy-turvy weather, we’ll end up with a white Christmas in July. It’s happened before—in 1816 residents of the northern tier of the eastern United States were ice skating in July and August, following a mild winter.

Will we experience the same thing this year? Don’t put your ice skates away in May. Meet me at the ice rink in July.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Feature Articles, JOURNAL/MEMOIR, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

