“Oops” Moments in a Writographer’s December Day

Carolyn’s Compositions

“OOPS” MOMENTS IN A WRITOGRAPHER’S DAY

DECEMBER 16, 2015

NOTE: Although the WordPress prompt was for photography (OOPS), I took the liberty of being a writographer, and applied the prompt in a photography/writing format.

7:30 a. m. Sun shining, morning temperatures in the 40s and rising—a continuation of spring weather in this marathon holiday season.

Although I was 5 days into my personal new year my birthday celebration continues with a 3-year-old tradition my husband Monte started. This birthday “tradition:” attending the Christmas buffet at DeNunzio’s Restaurant (at the Arnold Palmer Airport in Latrobe, Pennsylvania).

Little did I know that after the buffet I would experience an “oops” moment.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

The first year my husband suggested going to this buffet my response was “Only if we go as Santa and Mrs. Claus.” I prepared for the event by donning my Mrs. Claus outfit: a red dress purchased about 1988, a black belt, high black boots, and the requisite Santa hat.

151216 IMG_3157EEI also gathered my photography and writing supplies. Never leave the house without them.

Before leaving for the restaurant I attempted to take an outdoor picture of our cats.

Uh, oh. Oops. My camera wouldn’t turn on.

I checked the battery. It was fine, but the camera still wouldn’t turn on. I inserted my second battery which was fully charged. Still, the camera wouldn’t turn on.

I told Monte.

“I tried to take pictures of the lit up nativity set on our porch last night,” he said. “I couldn’t get the camera to turn on.”

Mind you, the camera body was new, purchased November 23 to replace my previous camera body that broke. It had an inside part that came loose and swung down over the sensor. Pictures looked like the strap was across the lens.

151028b IMG_4721E

Thus, I had one broken camera—an odd breakage…and a new second camera that wouldn’t turn on. What was going on?

The age of the original broken camera, the predicted expense of repairs, and the uncertainty of whether lasting repairs were part of the decision to replace the camera body instead of repairing it.

Monte decided we’d replace the camera body (my lens is still good) as my combination Christmas/birthday gift, and Santa would deliver it early. I guess he tired of my symptoms of camera withdrawal that were especially severe due to the onset of the holiday season.

We had a delightful time at the buffet. We were welcomed by another Santa as we entered the restaurant. Of course, I had to take advantage of this photo op, using my point and shoot camera.

Which is the REAL Santa?

Which is the REAL Santa?

151215 IMG_2236E

151215 IMG_2252E

Monte drove our overstuffed bellies to the Best Buy store in Greensburg. I was directed to the service desk, where a nice gentleman graciously listened to my frustrated complaint.

“The battery is fine,” he said.

Then he turned the camera on.

Guess what happened?

I don’t think I have to tell you. It was a photographic OOPS moment.

The camera turned on. Just like that. No problem. OOPS.

“I’m not lying,” I said instinctively. “Santa couldn’t turn it on either.”

“It’s on,” he said.

“I can see that. But Santa couldn’t turn it on, nor could I. We tried over and over, and changed the battery. And Santa is a physicist. I think we both know how to turn on the camera. We wouldn’t have driven here if we’d been able to turn the camera on.”

While paperwork was prepared regarding this visit, Santa Monte wandered off. I found him and as we started to leave a clerk saw us, and called out loudly “Santa.” I took her picture with Santa, and as we turned to leave another clerk wanted to take a selfie with Monte.

151215 IMG_2278E

So far, the camera turns on and is working. However, when I start to turn it on I wonder when, or if, this OOPS moment will happen again.

The next day Monte and I were outside our local grocery store dressed in our Santa Claus regalia. I shot the following, or handed the camera to another person to shoot those with me in them.151216 IMG_3157E

The weather was so spring-like I didn't wear a jacket and others were in shorts and short sleeves.

The weather was so spring-like I didn’t wear a jacket and others were in shorts and short sleeves.

151216 IMG_3165E

Monte and I have discovered what fun it is to be out in public as Santa’s helpers, even with “oops” happenings (oops moment last year: MOnte locked his keys in the car when we went bell ringing). People respond to us, and many seem to brighten up their outlook. One woman, a stroke victim who doesn’t relate well, tapped him on the shoulder and smiled, the best reaction I’ve seen from her. Our cheery “Ho Ho Ho” seems to hit a chord with people.151216 IMG_3128E

The camera is an essential part of my life, opening doors to meeting people and recording events. It provides a calming activity when we are zipping down country roads or on superhighways. It’s a tool that records a pictorial journal or our lives. It also provides me with illustrations for my writing.

Others may have different ways to handle life. Some knit, others read, do crossword puzzles, draw, paint. Whatever the activity is can be acknowledged as valuable.

As for me and my writography life, I’ll take a working camera and a laptop (or paper and pen).

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL/MEMOIR, Wordpress photos, WORDPRESS PROMPTS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Oops” Moments in a Writographer’s December Day

  1. merry101 says:

    Carolyn…what a good looking Mr & Mrs Santa!
    Santa always been my favorite fella! ❤
    Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

