How Much Do You Know About Sleep? Odd Facts

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

HOW MUCH DO YOU KNOW ABOUT SLEEP

AND

SLEEP PROBLEMS?

I answered the jingaling of the phone ring.

“Can you help me with a problem?” the caller asked.

“Is it an emergency? I have something scheduled right now. I can help when I’m done.”

It wasn’t an emergency. However, I didn’t state what I had scheduled. I wasn’t obligated to. I was ready to refresh my day. I was tired. I needed a nap.

Had it been an emergency I would have rescheduled or foregone my nap.

A few years ago I would have felt obligated to respond to the caller, since naps are not considered a necessary part of life’s scheduling. Now I make no apologies for self-care.

DSC02552E2

The WordPress prompt for November 9, 2015, is No Apologies: What’s the one guilty pleasure you have that’s so good you no longer feel guilty about it?  In my life there are several pleasures I partake of that I once felt guilty doing. Most of them involved self-care.

Thus, I ask you: How much do you know about sleep, a human activity that takes up one third of a lifetime, or about 25 years for a person living their 3 score and 10 years?

That November is National Sleep Comfort Month fits into this prompt.

I frequently hear family members, friends, and acquaintances relate their issues with poor sleeping and how they feel so tired. Common suggestions to combat sleeping include starting a sleep journal, exercising, investing in new sleep items (from mattresses to comforters), using earplugs and blackout curtains. In today’s technological world, eliminating technology lights can also interfere with sleep patterns.

A common thread is that you need to get sufficient sleep on a regular basis to function at your highest level . Proper sleep improves your brain function, memory, heart health, longevity, weight loss, and overall wellbeing.

Since we regularly hear missives on how to sleep, I thought I’d offer a quiz about unusual sleep issues. 

DISCLAIMER: The questions below include information I’ve not researched. If you question an item, mention it in the comment box below.

Birthday, Thanksgiving Day, Nov. 27, 1997, and baby Jordan is sleeping.

Birthday, Thanksgiving Day, Nov. 27, 1997, and baby Jordan is sleeping.

QUIZ

  1. Parents of newborns miss out on how much  worth of sleep before the infant turns .
  2. If you don’t have an alarm clock what method will wake you up in the morning?
  3. W. C. Fields, who suffered from insomnia, was only able to fall asleep if he did what?
  4. What is dysania?
  5. What is a myoclonic jerk?
  6. What happened to a Hungarian man, who, during WW1, was shot in the frontal lobe?
  7. What’s the record for the longest period a person went without sleep?
  8. Where is it illegal to sleep inside your vehicle?
  9. Define soporific.
  10. What famous singer sometimes liked to sleep in an old coffin?

BONUS QUESTION: What is unique about the way the following animals sleep: horses, rabbits, sea otters, cats, giraffes, snail, dolphin,

To learn the answers click on MORE

SLEEP QUIZ ANSWERS:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. 6 months.
  2. You can hire a ‘knocker-up,’ a person who goes tapping at your window with a long stick until you awaken.
  3. If he was under a beach umbrella being sprinkled with a garden hose.
  4. Dysania is the state of finding it hard to get out of bed in the morning.
  5. The sudden, mysterious, involuntary twitching you feel in your legs or arms when you’re drifting off to sleep is known as a “myoclonic jerk.”
  6. The shot made it impossible for him to fall asleep. However, he went on to live a full, sleepless life.
  7. 11 days
  8. In Aspen, Colorado.
  9. soporific \sop-uh-RIF-ik\ adj. Causing sleep; tending to cause sleep. Relating to, or characterized by sleepiness or lethargy. Example: The father’s voice was soporific and quiet as he read his son’s favorite book, Goodnight Gorilla.
  10. John Lennon

BONUS QUESTION ANSWER

Horses can sleep standing

Rabbits often sleep with their eyes open.

Sea otters hold hands when they sleep so they don’t drift away from each other

Cats sleep for 70% of their lives.

Giraffes only need 5 to 30 minutes of sleep in a 24-hour period.

A snail can sleep for three years.

Dolphins sleep with one eye open.

Waking up

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~

SOURCES

http://www.factslides.com/s-Sleep

http://valleysleepcenter.com/taking-comfort-in-national-sleep-comfort-month-and-beyond/

http://tidbitfun.com/11/18/sleep-facts/

http://www.factslides.com/s-Sleep

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Quizzes, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

