Can You Write a Six-Word Story About Your Future

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

FIVE 6-WORD STORIES ABOUT MY FUTURE

NOTE: This is the 200th article on Carolyn’s Online Magazine (#COMe). Celebrate with me by answering the following challenge: write a six-word story on what you think (or hope) the future holds for you. Post your answer in the comment box at the end of this post,

Also celebrate with me by passing a link to this article to all your friends, challenging them to also write a six-word story about what they think (or hope) the future holds for them.

I hope you respond to the poll at the end of this article. It asks which 6-word story you liked best.

Thanks! Carolyn Cornell Holland

~~~~~~~~~~~~

The WordPress daily writing prompt for November 6, 2015, is Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other: Write a six-word story about what you think the future holds for you, then expand on it in a post.

Below are five six-word stories about what I hope the future holds for me, and added a paragraph on each.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

HOUSE ORGANIZED, ENVY OF CLEAN FREAKS

Laundry---part of housecleaning

Laundry—part of housecleaning

Twelve years.

Yes, twelve years.

And still my garage isn’t cleaned up although I steadily work at it. Yet upon inspection it seems I’ve done nothing, in spite of testimony to the contrary: piles of empty boxes burned, bags of trash tossed weekly.

I can somewhat relate to the Hoarders on the television program with that name—although I admit I watch the show to feel better about my mess, which is far less devastating than that of the hoarders featured on the show. Still, I must take care not to knock down boxes as I sidle to where I am cleaning.

Last Saturday I reached the point where the worst is over. Now, as I work, my efforts produce a visual improvement.

Soon—soon—my garage will be organized and I can concentrate on cleaning my house. By the holidays perhaps I can say: House organized, envy of clean freaks.

MAINE COAST WINTER, HERE I COME

030219 H-F-P1010371E

I love the New England coast—from Newport, Rhode Island to Frenchman Bay, Maine. My dream this year was to spend six winter weeks on the Jordan River in Lamoine, Maine. What a great place to be snowed in doing the necessary rewrites of my novel-under-construction: She Saw Her Promised Land (those who are familiar with my effort to write this novel may know it by its former title, Intertwined Love). However, to do the rewrites I must have a first draft completed. It’s not. Hopefully that will happen this winter. Then I can say about my future: Maine coast winter, here I come.

NOVEL PUBLISHED. BEST SELLER. RESPECTED AUTHOR

Paper I've used for research

Paper I’ve used for research

My novel, She Saw Her Promised Land, began evolving in 2000. Fifteen years ago. If I’d known then what I know now perhaps I wouldn’t have started this project. However, I’m now invested in the writing, even though everything I write must be researched. Furthermore, I’m challenging myself by writing in a genre I’m unpracticed in.

Nonetheless I push on. Maybe I’ll live long enough to finish the next great American novel. Then I can say about my future: Novel published, best seller, noted author.

PIANO KEY DOLLS CRAFTED, MARKETED SUCCESSFULLY

151001 IMG_9286E

Twenty-two years ago I sawed and sewed all the parts needed to make dolls out of a full set of player piano keys. That’s 44 pair of wood doll heads and wood doll arms—and 44 sets of clothing, gowns and tuxedos.

On October 1, 2015, an artist painted the faces on all but three sets of doll heads. Under her tutelage I painted the remaining three sets.

This winter I’ll assemble the dolls. Then I’ll attempt to market them, so I can say about my future: Piano key dolls crafted, marketed successfully.

HEED CALL OF ROCKING CHAIR: NOT

151108 IMG_1376EC

I don’t know about other women my age, but each day I battle the call of my rocking chair. It wants me to sit, listen to music, read, watch the birds and wildlife visit my yard, whatever.

However, I resist.

My rocking chair’s call is a theft of time for real living. Therefore I can say about my future: Heed the call of rocking chair: NOT.

CONCLUSION

I feel sad and angry when I read or hear statements crediting the Baby Boomers with changing the lifestyle of the older person. I look around me and see many persons in my generation and older, individuals in their 70s, and 80s, who are trailblazing the way for the Baby Boomers. Members of my generation are aging gracefully, being very active, very busy, so much so that they don’t even see the rocking chair in their path. I see writers, artists, home health care personnel, organizers, innovative thinkers, wherever I go.

To end I’ll say about our future: You go girl, keep trucking gentlemen, and we’ll continue to change our world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

View other 6-word challenges in

Carolyn’s Online Magazine:

Can You Write Your Memoir in Six Words?

CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS (predecessor to Carolyn’s Online Magazine)

W-P Daily Prompt for 9/10/2013: Six (word story about my dream)

Six-Word Stories

~~~~~~~~~~~~

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL/MEMOIR, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can You Write a Six-Word Story About Your Future

  1. Tracy says:

    Encounters Characterized by Joy and Growth

    Like

  2. merry101 says:

    I’m a neat freak! But my husband is another story. He keeps me from being a perfectionist.
    😀

    Like

  3. fandancer2013 says:

    I came across your site by accident. I’m a new blogger and participating in the Blogging101 course. Today’s task is to use one of the prompts from the Daily Post and relate it to yourself. A Skx Word Story About Your Future attracted me, then I found your contribution in the list! You are clearly an experienced blogger and writer. I love writing too, and enjoying my foray into blogging. I’m struggling with what is meant by a Pingback though, as we have to include one. I’m going to look at more of your writings later……

    Like

Leave a Reply

