Ligonier Days Parade 2015 in Ligonier PA

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

LIGONIER DAYS PARADE 2015

Pre-parade, Parade, Post-parade Photos

151010 IMG_1904E

The first time I attended Ligonier Days in Ligonier, Pennsylvania, was in the mid-1990s. My daughter lived in town, and worked for Mutual Aid Ambulance Co. as a paremedic. I recall purchasing a Mutual Aid refrigerator magnet from a local craft store.

It was quite impressive, the parade and craft booths.

Since then my husband Monte and I purchased a retirement home in Laurel Mountain Borough. At the same time my daughter’s home was also purchased. It was right around the corner from us—the two homes have connecting yards with a path between the properties.

Ours was a part-time home for 2 ½ years. We moved in full-time in July 2003, and almost immediately took off for a three-month trip to New England. Since then I’ve attended most of the Ligonier Days events.

I’ve figured out where to park, and I have friends whose apartments are available for me to take pictures and take respite in. I enter town by 8:30 a. m., knowing I might not leave for home until after the fireworks, after 10:00 p. m. It makes for a long and satisfying day, where I meet new people and those I’ve come to know in our new extended community.

This year I arrived in Ligonier about 8:30 a. m., right on schedule. My friend Lois and I walked around town to see the pre-parade preparations.

Parade is over.

Parade is over.

While walking we met Steely McBeam, the Pittsburgh Steelers mascot. I had to have my picture taken with him to show my sports crazy son-in-law Michael that I don’t have to go to a sports event to get a  hug from Steely.

Getting a hug from Steely McBeam

Getting a hug from Steely McBeam

I added a new activity to my Ligonier Days experience this year—volunteering an hour at the Ligonier Theater, the assignment being to sell doughnuts and hot drinks.

Ligonier Theater had a vintage clothing sale

Ligonier Theater had a vintage clothing sale

I decided not to remain for the fireworks, and was home around 5:30 p. m. For an old decrepit woman such as I am this was sufficient for the day. I also chose not to return for the Sunday festivities, although I was tempted to go to the 5K walk.

For today’s post I’m posting a few pre-, and post-parade photos, along with some parade photos. Enjoy

PRE-PARADE

5-month-old Kinzlee awaits her first Ligonier Days parade

5-month-old Kinzlee awaits her first Ligonier Days parade

Gentleman tells me this is the first Ligonier Days parade he will be marching in

Gentleman tells me this is the first Ligonier Days parade he will be marching in

He didn't tell us his role in the parade---he was sitting in an outhouse!

He didn’t tell us his role in the parade—he was sitting in an outhouse!

151010 IMG_0714EP

...parade participants line up.

…parade participants line up.

Firemen collect money in a boot, child makes his offering

Firemen collect money in a boot, child makes his offering

PARADE

151010 IMG_0899EP

151010 IMG_0971EP

Ligonier High School band

Ligonier High School band

151010 IMG_1034EP

151010 IMG_1078EP

151010 IMG_1219EP

151010 IMG_1318EP

POST-PARADE

Parade is over.

Parade is over.

151010 IMG_1864EP

151010 IMG_1866E

Book signing

Book signing

151010 IMG_1909E

151010 IMG_0704E151010 IMG_1963e

151010 IMG_1990EP

 

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Ligonier Valley, PHOTOGRAPHY, Photography photos, SOUTHWESTERN PENNSYLVANIA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ligonier Days Parade 2015 in Ligonier PA

  1. Jimmy perian says:

    I grew up in ligonier. Born and raised. I live in Texas now. Thank you for the pics and journalism.
    Jimmy

    Like

Leave a Reply

