Jumping in Waves & Snowtubing…A Perfect Day

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

JUMPING IN WAVES AND SNOWTUBING

A PERFECT DAY FOR A 6-YEAR-OLD

The WordPress writing prompt for September 29, 2015 is Life’s a Candy Store: you get to be a 6-year-old again for one day and one day only. Plan your perfect 24 hours. Below is a day from an anonymous 6-year-old.

CORNELL, CAR 04

The shining sun was lifting the dew off the grass. I glanced at the clock Grandma had just taught me how to read. 6:00 a. m. Saturday. They said I should never wake them up this early on a Saturday morning. Ah, there’s my bathing suit. It’s my favorite color. Yellow. Just like the sunshine. I’ll be ready when they wake.

I’ll make a picnic breakfast. Here’s the bread. I’ll move this chair to the counter to reach the peanut butter, grape jelly and marshmallow. Fluffernutters will be perfect for a beach picnic. The salt water will wash away my stickiness. Fluffernutters can make you so messy.

There you are Grampa. Yes, I’ve made a picnic breakfast. We can take it to the beach. I love being there early. Will the tide be high or low? When can we leave? I’m ready now.

Hi Grandma. Why are you still wearing jammies? It’s time to go. We’re going to the beach. You promised. Get up!

There’s the beach. Grandma, I’m hungry. Can I have my fluffernutter now? Oh, look at all the birds. Grampa, you made them fly away. My bread crumbs will bring them back. I love feeding them. They gather so close to me their wings tickle my legs. Park the car, Grampa. I can run on the beach before the sand gets too hot.

Grandpa, did you see that big wave knock me down? It was so much fun. Here comes another big wave. Ooooohhhh!

080915BIMG_3391

Gramdma, where’s my towel? I’m cold. I think I’ll eat my fluffernutter now.

That was good. I’m going to look for crabs in the puddles. Where’s my jar? Oh, here it is.

Look, I have nine crabs. I’ll keep them for now. I’ll let them loose before we leave. I don’t want them to die. They can sit beside me while I make a sand castle. It will last until the tide returns later today. Isn’t my castle super? Thank you for helping me, Grandma.

130923 IMG_3186

Bye Grandma and Grandpa. I’m going to climb the rocks. The tide has gone out enough to make it safe. Watch me, watch me climb that tall rock.

080915B IMG_3627

I’m tired now. Can I take a nap while we drive to the mountains?

Zzzzz….z….zzzzzzzz.zz

We’re here, we’re here. I need to put on my warm clothes. Are you snowtubing too, Grandma? No? Grandpa will take me up. We can snowboard together the first time, then I want to try it on my own.

131227 IMG_5101

Wheeeee..oh no! My tube tipped over. It’s flying down the hill without me. I’m going to run after it. This is so much fun.

131227 IMG_5491E

Grandma, you don’t know what you missed. Come on the next ride, please. Oh, OK. It must be bad to be old.

I’m hungry now. It’s time to go get pizza and wings. I don’t want mushrooms on my pizza. I want mild wings. After dinner can we go to the movies? I want to see Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

Make them put lots of butter on my popcorn. Quiet. The movie is starting.

I’m tired. Zzzzz.zz

You mean I’m home? In bed? Zzzz.zz Did you carry me to my room, Grandpa? Zz zzzzzz.zz.

It’s the end of a perfect day for a 6-year-old.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jumping in Waves & Snowtubing…A Perfect Day

  1. Neighbor says:

    Very cute photo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

