The Patio Beneath My Feet

CAROLYN’S ONLINE MAGAZINE (#COMe)

THE PATIO BENEATH MY FEET

The WordPress photo weekly prompt for August 7, 2015, is to capture the ground beneath your feet.

I shot a photo of the patio beneath my feet when I stepped outside this morning. IMG_6133e

IMG_6128eIt is not a happy, pretty, picture. My husband Monte, with the help of former neighbor Dan, prepared and painted the wood with Rustoleum Deck & Concrete Restore 10X last autumn.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

I immediately experienced an allergic reaction when Dan entered my computer room after completing the task. This reaction, just from the emissions and odor from his work clothes, was accompanied by several months of phantom taste and smell (the taste and smell of the Restore 10X).

To add insult to injury, when I stepped onto the porch in March, the Restore 10X was peeling. Since then it has continued to peel. I watched as my cat rolled over one day, his paw gently touching the edge of the wood. The paw actually peeled a section of Restore 10X. The following pictures I took this morning, to demonstrate the extent of damage over the summer:

IMG_6131e

IMG_6130e

IMG_6127e

We now must remove the product and re-stain our patio—a great deal of work and expense to have a maintained patio beneath my feet.

If any of you, my readers, have experienced problems with Rustoleum Deck & Concrete Restore 10X please share your experience in the comment box below.

IMG_6132e

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in JOURNAL/MEMOIR, Wordpress photos, WORDPRESS PROMPTS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Patio Beneath My Feet

  1. Pingback: The Ground Beneath My Feet | Carolyn's Online Magazine

  2. Grace ( & Fred) Wells says:

    For your next big event – birthday present, anniversary present, valentines day present, or whatever present – see about removing the deck and having a concrete patio poured. King and Little Dog will like the cool floor in the hot summer and you can say by by” to the paint.

    Like

Leave a Reply

