Dear Mom, I Wish You’d Told Me You Released My Two Sisters for Adoption

Dear Mom,

I wish you’d somehow found a way to inform me that you released not one, but two, of my younger sisters for adoption. I already wrote you the following letter: My Mother’s Special 90th Birthday Gift

At the end of April 2015, while traveling back to Pennsylvania from Florida, my husband Monte and I were invited to dinner at the North Carolina home of Sib-Sis #3. She is among those who don’t like her name or any of her information posted on the I-net. She has presented you with two grandsons, and several great-grandchildren.

Darlene, whom I had the opportunity to meet the first weekend in March 2011, now lives in Arizona. She presented you with three grandchildren, a granddaughter and two grandsons. So far there are no great grandchildren.

I understand you could not raise these babies, and by releasing them you gave them the gift of a better life. It was a finely kept family secret except for two clues: a leak to my older sister by your brother, and my puzzling memory of you with a big belly when I was just 5 years old.

However, I missed the opportunity of knowing these two siblings. Our relationship can never be the same as if we’d grown up together.

For now, we will have to build on whatever resources we have to develop any relationship, which is very difficult long distance when we can rarely if ever meet face to face over coffee or a meal.

What is is, they say. No regrets. Just letting you know.

Your 2nd oldest child, your daughter,

Carolyn

NOTE: The July 15, 2015, WordPress writer’s prompt was to write a letter to you mom, telling her something you’ve (always) wanted to say, but haven’t been able to.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in ADOPTION, JOURNAL/MEMOIR, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Mom, I Wish You’d Told Me You Released My Two Sisters for Adoption

  1. Grace ( & Fred) Wells says:

    Hope you get to have a reunion with your siblings in the near future

    Like

  2. merry101 says:

    Ahh, Carolyn how nice to have you back! For some strange reason, your posts are being delivered as Defeat Despair by Julia Denton. Which I also follow but…happy to see you. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

