One Second: Oh, What Shall I Do?

Carolyn’s Online Magazine (#COMe)

ONE SECOND: OH, WHAT SHALL I DO?

The earth is slowing down a little bit, according to the Paris Observatory. On January 5, 2015, it* announced that in June an extra second will be added to the clock.

At midnight—rather just before midnight—on June 30th clocks will read 11:59:60.

The first leap second was added in 1972, and it will be the 26th time it has been added to clocks in history.

Read One Second: Oh, What Shall I Do? after reading today’s post, a poem to read ‘in your extra second.’

ONE SECOND: OH, WHAT SHALL I DO?

Grandson Marcus watching this unusual clock

Grandson Marcus watching this unusual clock

One second, oh what shall I do?

A billion nanoseconds

 1/86,400th  of a day

1/31,557,600th  of a Julian year

So much time, yet so little.

What happens every hour?

What happens every hour?

One second, oh what shall I do?

A midge beats its wings 1,000 times

A black mamba slithers 24 feet

A cheetah moves 100 feet

If I were very fast I’d spring 39 feet

120413 IMG_9126e

One second, oh what shall I do?

Race light traveling 300,000 kilometers in a vacuum

Race sound traveling 346 meters at sea level

Race thunder traveling the speed of sound in earth’s air

120413 IMG_9130e

One second, oh, what shall I do?

I can be conceived

I can live

I can die

Life’s magic moments…

Now read What Will You Do With Your June 30, 2015, Leap Second?

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WRITING. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Second: Oh, What Shall I Do?

  1. Pingback: What Will You Do With Your June 30, 2015, Leap Second? | Carolyn's Online Magazine

Leave a Reply

