What Is It About June 18th?

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

WHAT IS IT ABOUT JUNE 18TH?

After a week of dismal, rainy weather, in which 4.5 inches of rain fell in a pair of days, I look forward to a sunny, cool, pleasant June 18, 2015.

If I were a fisherperson I would find peace by going fishing. I wonder, though, if fish are biting in the nearby rain-swollen streams. Anyway, it doesn’t matter, since I’ve never gone fishing and it’s not on my bucket list.

1993 scan0007 AEe

I’d prefer splurging to fishing. But splurge on what?

Food. Oh, how those buffets offer me the opportunity to splurge. American, Chinese, whatever—I love eating. I fill my plate with fried chicken, roast beef, stuffed mushrooms, seafood bake, etc., before adding a few carrots and green beans to show I can eat healthy. I return to the hibachi bar and pile my plate with thin slices of roast beef, mushrooms, onions, etc. and watch the chef sauté the mixture in garlic sauce. I end up at the dessert table where I place a dab each of three different puddings, a slice of apple pie, gooey chocolate cake, a splotch of vanilla ice cream.

OK, so I’ve splurged, and my body groans and rumbles and churns afterwards. Amidst the joy of splurging my heart is beginning  to race, I feet faint, I have a sense of impending doom, my skin is becoming clammy, and I have difficulty breathing.

I’m having a panic attack

I should have gone fishing. Instead I’m having a panic attack as I realize how many of my clothes won’t fit due to an increased waist size.

The symptoms subside somewhat as I rest my head on the steering wheel in my car.

Upon my return home where there’s a comfy bed the symptoms reappear as I walk through my very cluttered house and spot the writing I abandoned in order to splurge. I recall I should be writing about the Battle of Waterloo, during which my ancestor—a character in my novel—was captured while sailing to France and thrown into Dartmoor Prison in England. He never retrieved his inheritance, even after he was released, nor did he return to the states.

I stagger to my bed and breathe a sigh of relief. As I try to fall into a sleep to avoid more panic I realize what the real problem of this day has been: it’s Go Fishing Day, National Splurge Day, and the day of the Battle of Waterloo.

I can’t wait for June 18th to fade into June 19th.

Have a wonderful day.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Fiction, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

