Imperfect People: A Devotion

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

IMPERFECT PEOPLE: A DEVOTION

SCRIPTURE: “Who can say, I have made my heart clean. I am pure from my sin?” Proverbs 20:9, KJV

If we claim to be sinless, we are self-deceived and strangers to the truth.” 1 John 1:8, NEB

REFLECTION: It’s easy to examine our lives and believe we are sin free. But, being human, we cannot be sinless. At worst we commit socially and Biblically condemned sin: murder, rape, theft. At best, we do what we set out not to and don’t do that which we want to do, according to Paul in the New Testament.

I too am guilty. I set out to recognize my family and friends by sending them cards on special occasions. I want to visit them, to help them with things they can’t do. I want to remember their names. In the community I want to do something about the homeless, the widows, the downtrodden. But these things I don’t do.

I don’t want to hurt people, to be late to events, to embarrass anyone. I don’t want to watch my elderly neighbor walk to the store to get her groceries, to put my head in the sand when confronted with a problem. I don’t want to break my promises. But these things I do.

I can compound these sins by allowing them to immobilize me, by seeing myself as an “awful” person. However, I know by being a Christian that my sins can be forgiven and I can move on, working to change the patterns of my life, and, allowing God to use my actions to benefit others’ lives.

Jesus and the Father know we are human: imperfect and unable to attain perfection without God’s help. Yet we are to be the best people we can be, and to rest in the assurance that one day we will be glorified.

PRAYER: Lord, help me move toward perfection, while allowing my imperfection to do your good work.

Read more devotions in the regular Devotions Category and/or Easter/Holy Week Devotions Category

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in BIBLICAL, DEVOTIONS, Devotions Regular and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Imperfect People: A Devotion

  1. Ed Rogosky says:

    Well, Carolyn, just could not let this one get by. You have written yourself into a paradox, which I suppose is nothing unusual for an imperfect person, as we all should proclaim ourselves to be. Indeed, a fact that I cannot disagree with.
    However, you miss a vital point, I think. For me, knowing that the ancient Greeks knew all about systems and systems thinking, why would Paul write such words? Certainly to encourage people to let God reign in their lives. Perhaps also to see that some things are in your power to change, if you but see them.
    Hence, the point of my note. God can change anyone but people claim to be unable to change. I think that is the lie that we all live under. Change is messy, uncomfortable and violates many control issues that people “seem” to want in their lives. Yes, because of the many control issues present, it is not an understatement that people are encouraged, in many ways, to not see the many possibilities in their lives.

    Like

    • Nice hearing from you, Ed. Say “Hi” to Deb for me. I miss the two of you…when will you move back here????
      Thank you for your comment. Yes, change is messy, etc., but change we must if we are to live fully with God.
      Just a note for you and Deb—the Beanery Writers Group is changing. They changed their name to Foothills Writers.
      They are also making history. They are the first group membership at the Laurel Arts Center.
      Luv ya cuz—Carolyn

      Like

  2. Karen OConnor says:

    Carolyn, Any luck with getting us a basket? If not, it’s ok. Our fundraiser is tomorrow, though, so let me know. Thanks! Date: Wed, 27 May 2015 01:32:04 +0000 To: koconnorhga@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

