Dust Jacket Summary for My Novel: Intertwined Love

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

DUST JACKET SUMMARY FOR MY NOVEL:

INTERTWINED LOVE

Below is a draft of the back-page dust cover summary of the novel I’m in the process of writing. I’d appreciate any critiques of this piece:

Madame Rosalie views her promised land from the top of Schoodic Mountain

Madame Rosalie views her promised land from the top of Schoodic Mountain

Madame Rosalie de Leval, an escapee from the French Revolution with minimal understanding of the English language,, arrived in the United States with little money. However, within a couple of months she’d signed a tentative contract with post-American Revolution land speculators, Gen. Henry Knox and Col. William Duer, to purchase 22,000 acres of land in Downeast Maine. She planned to develop a French community for her countrymen waiting out their homeland war.

In the end, her plan failed, not because of

her inadequacies but because of the financial overextension of Col. Duer.

I discovered Rosalie because she reportedly gave land to my ancestor, Louis des Isles. I wondered who she was and why she did so.

Research on this strong, unknown woman took me to New England, Philadelphia, Alexandria (Va.), France, Gallipolis (Ohio), Downeast Maine, and ultimately British Guiana.

The ultimate message of writing this novel is twofold: today’s events repeat yesterday’s history, and it takes a global community to write a historical novel.

I’m certain you will, as I did, not only find Rosalie a fascinating representative of strong women, but will discover a different view of Gen. Knox and Col. Duer.

NOTE: Read more about my novel at Intertwined Love, CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS (predecessor of Carolyn’s Online Magazine), and Carolyn’s Online Magazine.

To follow my progress on my novel see Updates on My Novel-Under-Construction

NOTE: This “dust jacket” summary of my novel was written in response to the May 4, 2015, WordPress prompt, Coming to a Bookshelf Near You: write a summary of the book you’ve always wanted to write for the back cover of its dust jacket.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Novel, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

