Rainbow Hues in Jacksonville (Fla) and Valdosta (Ga)

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

RAINBOW HUES FROM

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA, TO

VALDOSTA, GA.

NOTE: The WordPress prompt for April 20, 2015, is roy-g-biv: Write about anything…but make sure that all seven colors of the rainbow — red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet — appear in the post, either through word or image.

Where was I on April 20, 2015, when the WordPress daily prompt was roy-g-biv?

Oh, that’s right. I was in Jacksonville, Florida. At least I began the day there. At 5:00 a.m. I woke up and heard my friend Lena making coffee. Knowing she was preparing to go to work, I went out to give her a hug.

At 8:00 my husband Monte and I were dining with Lena’s husband Mike. A delightful mid-Eastern breakfast with everything from falafel to baklava. Even though they were leftovers from a generous dinner at Wally’s Gyros and Subs the evening before, I insisted we finish the food for breakfast. The pinkish-red beets, green falafel, and yellow scrambled eggs added color to the table.

150419 IMG_9498e

After breakfast Monte checked our email. We’d been watching the progress of a corpse plant blooming cycle, and Monte’s niece had sent pictures of Pollinating the Corpse Flower at the Rollins College Greenhouse. The bloom was a striking maroon on the top and green on the underside.

150420 corpse flower female e

Too soon we left our good friends. Just before driving off I snapped a picture of oranges growing on a tree beside our car.

150420A IMG_9843e

While driving to our next stop on our way back to Pennsylvania from Florida I spoke with Gabby, our house-sitter. The quiet of our home has been conducive to her working on her novel, and she is making great progress. Our two cats are keeping her company, but she tells us they seem melancholy, missing us.

In Valdosta we visited our good friends, Juanita and Bob. We arrived in town early and stopped at a mall, where there were two magnetic boards with magnetic letters in every hue of the rainbow, including yellow, blue, indigo, and violet.

Between the boards holding the letters were two other magnetic boards with lines beginning with “I resolve to…” Many lines were completed, but I found a blank line and filled it in.

150420C IMG_9851e

We left the mall and arrived at Juanita’s house before she returned from work. While waiting for her I took photos of her house to show our children, Sandy and Nolan. I was taking pictures of a red rose when Juanita arrived. We hadn’t seen her since about 1984, and we had a great reunion and catch-up time with her and Bob.

The evening went fast. It was late before we all decided we should retire for the night. Thus ended the seventh day of our travel to Florida from the Arnold Palmer Airport in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, and our travel back to Pennsylvania via rental car.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in TRAVEL, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainbow Hues in Jacksonville (Fla) and Valdosta (Ga)

  1. Grace ( & Fred) Wells says:

    Leftovers like that for another meal are welcome at my house too – My greetings to Mike and Lena also !

    Like

  2. merry101 says:

    You’ve been traveling in my home area…I have family in Jacksonville Fla. and Valdosta Ga. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

