The Three Little Pigs: A Devotion

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

THE THREE LITTLE PIGS:

A DEVOTION

SCRIPTURE: Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. (Matthew 7:24-25, NIV)

DISCUSSION: Porky Pig’s face stared out at me from fabric with a blue background. This fabric will make good adult bibs, I thought. As I waited for the sales clerk, the story of The Three Little Pigs was on my mind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is this child’s tale an allegory of Jesus’ parable found in Matthew 7? I wondered.

It’s difficult to build on rock. Building on sand is so much easier and quicker, leaving time for fun.

That is, until the storms come, the rains fall, and the house is weakened. Then the wolf huffs and puffs at the house built on sand and soon blows it down.

Next the wolf huffs and puffs at the house built on rock, but is unable to “blow the house down.” Can I rely on my brother to save me, my brother who built his house on rock, who took pains and built his house right, who was thereby saved?

No. You are the only person who can build your house correctly. You alone. My faith and the study and work I do will not gain you entry into God’s good grace. You cannot enter on my coattails!

However, you do have a Brother who laid the foundation in His blood. The Rock upon which you can build your house. Make your decision for Christ and when the winds huff and puff in an attempt to blow you down, you will be secure.

The sales clerk interrupted my thoughts by asking me how much fabric I wanted. “Two yards,” I answered, thinking I might share my pondering with the recipients of the bibs I planned on making.

PRAYER: Father, thank You for insights, parables, and children’s stories that lead us to Jesus Christ.

Read more devotions in the regular Devotions Category and/or Easter/Holy Week Devotions Category

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in BIBLICAL, DEVOTIONS, Devotions Regular and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Three Little Pigs: A Devotion

  1. Tom Beck says:

    The middle pig with the stick house could be like the person who is neither hot nor cold, but lukewarm. They will be spit out.

    Like

  2. merry101 says:

    Carolyn, hello! 🙂
    We can tell others of Jesus but they must do their own repenting…

    Like

Leave a Reply

