Poetry in April #2

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

POETRY IN APRIL #2

(Poetry in April #1)

 A Haiku

Carolyn

Joanne, Mary, me

Tickety-boo, we do say

When life delights us

This poem will likely be in my novel. One character, Mary Googins des Isles Swett, is a 1790 to early 1800s Maine frontier resident who liked to write poetry. Thus the section of the book on her will include short poems. Below is one she might have written:

Mussel shells cover the bottom of high tide waters at Lamoine Beach, Maine

Mussel shells cover the bottom of high tide waters at Lamoine Beach, Maine

Beach filled with mussels

Delicious meals they do make

Starving, lack muscle

HAIR UNAWARE

Joan Myers, Beanery Writers Group

Was it there as I kissed my husband goodbye this a.m.? Black and endearing.

Was it there as I sat through morning briefing? Proud and shouting.

Was it there at luncheon with my boss? Stiff and preening.

Was it there when I did my presentation? Aloof and sneering.

Was it there when I met my child’s teacher after school? Curled and amusing.

Was it there when I had dinner with my in-laws? Precious and spewing.

It’s there on my chin in the bathroom mirror tonight. I’m sure no one noticed?

Please, God!

 

SWEETS ©

Mary A. Marcum,  Beanery Writers Group

120905 DSC00864E4

Pies and cakes, cookies and treats;

A terrible habit, I just have to beat.

 

Syrups and sauces, molasses and cream;

So many toppings that make me dream.

 

Chocolate, toffee, caramels and fudge;

Won’t walk away, I can’t even budge.

 

Tarts and doughnuts, crullers and truffles;

I’m weakening now and feeling quite ruffled.

 

Ice creams, gelatos and sherbets galore;

I could go on but I can’t anymore.

 

Oh wait, perhaps just a little bit,

Or maybe a small slice;

Yes, yes, I’ll save you the trouble of

Asking me twice.

 

CLOUDS

Joanne Patterson, Beanery Writers Group

My pen was poised

The paper lined

No need to discipline my mind

The day was new

The sky was blue

But thoughts that flew

Passed into space

Like clouds, until the winds erase

 

The morning brings, above the trees,

Just flimsy wisps, I see

Like thoughts I hope to bring to form

From glimpses of eternity

 

The clouds will bring the joy I know

When in my view the billows flow

And treat my eyes with shapes and sizes

Changing, gliding, fast and slow

 

I wait for days when skies are blue

And clouds and dreams and hopes not few

Build towers even stars might fear

My clouds are floating far and near

As words can go and reappear

That hope to please the eye and ear

 

My pen still poised, but now I find

Of darkening skies I see the signs

My words will wait another time

For inspiration yet sublime

 

TWO HAIKUS: A SUMMER DAY & NIGHT SKY

Bill, Beanery Writers Group

A SUMMER DAY

A breeze, leaves shimmer;

Quiescent warmth, sun shining

Another warm breeze.

NIGHT SKY

Day, bold colors, night;

Burning needles melt into dome;

Unfathomable.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poetry in April #2

  1. Pingback: Poetry in April #5: A Fireworks Finale of Poetry | Carolyn's Online Magazine

Leave a Reply

