Poetry in April #1

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

POETRY IN APRIL #1

April is National Poetry Month. Last year I posted 30 poems divided evenly in the 4 weeks of the month. I’d written them over the years.

This year, I haven’t written that many poems, so I’m including some poems by family members and some from members of the Foothills Writers (formerly the Beanery Writers).  I’ve gathered enough to post 30 poems, divided into 4 weeks.

Make way for week #1. The first poem was written this Easter by my 8-year-old grandson, Marcus.

MINIONS —Marcus adobe_illustrator___minion_by_hypnosis87-d3a7pc8

Minions Are Awesome

Minions are awesome, unlike a possum.

Minions are cool, Unlike drool.

Minions are sweet. Just like candy we eat.

Minions are great in your face!!!

I wrote the next four poems.

My candle burnt down,

my paper ran out,

no ink in my pen

I’ll sleep in my den.

The following three will likely be in my novel. One character, Mary Googins des Isles Swett, is a 1790 to early 1800s Maine frontier resident who likes to write poetry, thus the section of the book on her will include short poems.

The Irish couple

The fighting Googles they are

Got into a stew.

LOUIS

Louis walked into my life

One day when a ship sailed by

Utopia he unexpectedly brought

Into my life

Surprise, surprise.

The Mt. Desert peaks

Stretch skyward reaching heaven

Dare I, dare I, look.

2003 P1012406CE

 OF YOU   —Deb, my niece, from my February 15, 1998 files.

Crocus

Crocus

 Spring Flowers

Summer Sun

Autumn Leaves

Winter Snow

Stars at night

Moonlight walks

Thunderstorms

A clear blue sky

A singing brook

Butterflies and birds

A crackling fire

A home filled with love

Cold winter night

Snow gently falling

Icicles and snowmen

Snow covered branches

All of these things

Remind me of you

The places we’ve been

Things yet to do.

ANNIE BY THE SEASIDE —Walter Matusic, member , Beanery Writers Group  

Down by the seaside where Annie goes

There in the stones a flower grows.

Annie looks out at the foaming sea

Then sits down by the flower and me.

For long is the time that I’ve waited,

On this island tormented and hated.

Where a prison embranded me

And on the island they stranded me.

But though they tried they could not hide me

With pretty Annie now here beside me.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Poetry, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poetry in April #1

  1. A fitting celebration of Poetry Month! Loved all the poems and their variety too.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Poetry in April #2 | Carolyn's Online Magazine

  3. Pingback: Poetry in April #5: A Fireworks Finale of Poetry | Carolyn's Online Magazine

Leave a Reply

