An Easter “April Fool’s” Caper

Carolyn’s Online Magazine   (COMe)

AN EASTER “APRIL FOOL’S” CAPER

Easter morning rose with sun, blue sky, spring flowers in bloom.

150405 IMG_9845E

Our bleary-eyed family, my husband, Monte; my son and daughter-in-law Nolan and Tammy; and their two sons, Vince and Marcus, 8, headed out the door to attend the 10:45 a. m. church service at Heritage United Methodist Church in Ligonier, Pennsylvania.

During the service both boys, Vince 10 and Marcus 8, went forward for the children’s sermon, based on the pretzel being a symbol of Lent and Easter.

150406 IMG_9987E

“It has no beginning or ending,” the Rev. John Flowers told the children, “reminding us that God is for eternity, God is always there. The pretzel is in the shape of a heart, reminding us of God’s loved us so much he gave his Son for us. The three holes represent the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost.

“And, turning the pretzel upside down, represents hands folded to the shoulders in prayer—reminding us to be in prayer all the time.”

The boys returned to the pew having two pretzels to snack on.

After a few minutes, Vince, who was sitting beside me, asked me what time the church service would end, a typical 10-year-old question.

“Noon,” I answered.

He asked what time it was. I showed him my watch, which I hadn’t reset for Daylight Savings Time. Vince looked at it and saw the time as 10:30 a. m.

The look on his face said it all. Another HOUR AND A HALF?

150317 letter-03E

NOTE: This photo of Vince was taken March 17,

when he had his head shaved to raise funds

for children’s cancer research at St. Baldrick’s Foundation:

read Why this 5th grader shaves his head each March: St. Baldrick’s

After the service, while walking to the car, I showed Vince my watch again. It read 11:00: IMG_9988

“It’s really (high) noon,” I told him before revealing that the watch wasn’t set accurately—it wasn’t adjusted for Daylight Savings Time.

“Gotcha,” I then told him.

Although Easter this year was on April 5, it should have fallen on April 1—because this communication was so fitting for April Fool’s Day.

Read devotions in the regular Devotions Category and/or Easter/Holy Week Devotions Category

NOTE: The WordPress prompt for April 5, 2015 (on which day Easter fell) was High Noon: At noon today, take a pause in what you’re doing or thinking about. Make a note of it, and write a post about it later—which I did tonight.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Easter/Holy Week, HOLIDAYS, WORDPRESS PROMPTS, Wordpress writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Easter “April Fool’s” Caper

  1. merry101 says:

    A beautiful Easter day. 🙂
    It was cold and rainy here.

    Like

  2. Thomas Beck says:

    Your April Fools joke came on Easter this year when a “fool” showed up unannounced on just as your family was sitting down to eat.. You were a gracious hostess and invited me into your home to share your meal, when I was merely asking for directions to a nearby home for an Easter meal.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Grace ( & Fred) Wells says:

    I liked the kids sermon illustration with the pretzel – might use that one myself for the preschool group I work with on Wednesday nights

    Like

Leave a Reply

