Whose Success?

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

WHOSE SUCCESS?

ORRIS, TRACY 3e

SCRIPTURE: Genesis 41:16   And Joseph answered Pharaoh, saying, It is not in me: God shall give Pharaoh an answer of peace.(KJV)

2 Corinthians 3:5   Not that we are sufficient of ourselves to think any thing as of ourselves; but our sufficiency is of God;(KJV)

Related Scripture:   Genesis 40:8, 41:25, 28, 32; Deuteronomy 29:29; Daniel 2:22, 28, 47; Acts 3:12

DISCUSSION: God communicates not only with believers but also with nonbelievers through dreams. In this case, God is sending a famine on the land but is giving Pharoah a warning of the coming disaster. (24=119)

     Joseph responds to the Pharoah’s request for a dream interpretation modestly and decently, giving honor to God and showing respect to Pharoah. (1=81)

REFLECTION:  I am human. As such it is difficult to credit to God accomplishments I feel I have made. After all, it was my blood, my sweat and my tears that went into that news story; it was my fingers that become bloodied from the needle as I made that piano recital dress; it was my hands that became stained rainbow colored when I made that craft project; it was my ideas that went into and arranged themselves in that story or program! My finger pushed the button on the camera to take that photo!

I neglect to mention, however, that it was God who blessed me with the innate skill and ability to learn the techniques to accomplish my feat. It was God who provided me with the gifts and talents to create my writing, my photography, my crafts, and my sewing. It was God who placed me in this land of opportunity where I am free and able to develop these tasks. And it is God whom should be honored through these gifts, talents and creations.

God provided the materials and locale for my success.

No, I am not responsible for my success. Nor are you responsible for your success. God is. I thank Him for my blessings. And I hope you thank Him for your blessings. IMG_6818e

PRAYER: Lord, let me keep you before me always as a reminder of who You are and what You have given me. Let me always remember to give You credit for my accomplishments as I use the gifts You gave me. Amen

Read more devotions in the regular Devotions Category and/or Easter/Holy Week Devotions Category

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING:

Tie the Thread on My Finger

Thy Wife Shall Bear Thee a Son

Things Really Haven’t Changed

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in DEVOTIONS, Devotions Regular and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whose Success?

  1. Grace ( & Fred) Wells says:

    To God Be The Glory

    Like

Leave a Reply

