Whose Side Will I Take?

Carolyn’s Online Magazine (COMe)

WHOSE SIDE WILL I TAKE?

A Devotion 

SCRIPTURE: Genesis 24:50   Then Laban and Bethuel answered and said, The thing proceedeth from the Lord: we cannot speak unto thee bad or good. (KJV)

DISCUSSION: Laban readily invites the servant in for a meal, but the servant insists on telling of his errand in full before eating, ending by issuing a challenge to those who have listened, if you are not clever enough to see the hand of the all-powerful divinity in these affairs, I will be happy to take my commission elsewhere to where they will see His hand.

Laban and Bethuel are wise enough to see God’s action here. (6-A: pp. 124)

Both agreed that what had befallen was of the Lord, so their own thoughts on the matter seemed irrelevant. They agreed, saying, “Take her and go….”  (5: pp 73)

REFLECTION:  Abraham’s trusted servant had traveled to another country to find a wife for Isaac, Abraham’s son. The servant ended up at the home of Laban and Bethuel.

He was uneasy: he wondered if the two men at whose house he would sojourn would deal kindly and truly with him.

“The thing proceedeth from the Lord: we cannot speak unto thee bad or good.”

It reminds me of times in counseling that I tell feuding, differing, neighbors I am not interested in biased stories. I want the truth. I will take the side of truth.

Facts discovered, whatever their source, determine where the chips will fall. It is not a question of “whose side will I take,” but “where do the chips place the truth.”

“Truth-chips” fall on the table. I cannot speak of good or bad, truth or falsehood. The truth is the light. The truth proceedeth from the Lord.

A couple came to me for help. Their disagreement was around the issue of love. He doesn’t love me. She doesn’t love me.

I listened to them for a while, sorting through what they were saying. The “chips” showed they were saying the same thing in different languages. The disagreement boiled down to a differing definition of the word love.

Taking this “truth chip” I helped them define “love” in a manner that was agreed upon by both, then used this definition to point out the fact that their argument wasn’t really an argument but an agreement.

Truth proceeding from the Lord is consistent.

PRAYER: Lord, let me look for “truth chips” to discover the truth amidst the differences. Prevent me from taking sides based on emotional input and feelings, so I can seek those “truth chips.” Amen.

Read more devotions in the regular Devotions Category and/or Easter/Holy Week Devotions Category

~~~~~~~~~~~~

ADDITIONAL READING: (on CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS

Saving Beyond Necessity: A Question

Tie the Thread on My Finger

Tarantulas: Those Scary Creeping Things

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in DEVOTIONS, Devotions Regular and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whose Side Will I Take?

  1. Grace ( & Fred) Wells says:

    Glad to know you are also a good marriage counselor !

    Like

Leave a Reply

