Valentine Nostalgia

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

VALENTINE NOSTALGIA

My February 14th Valentine’s Day folder holds years of Valentine Day treasures. In 1998 I wrote variations of the “roses are red” poems for sisters, relatives, and friends. In 1996 I found a story about pistachios. Other years I made online Valentine cards and e-mailed them, and other years I wrote Valentine poetry.

I hope you enjoy my Valentine’s Day nostalgia. I’ll begin with a variation of “roses are red” written for all my friends—and offered to you, my readers, for whom I’m grateful.

 Rose’s dozens are massive

Violet clumps are royalty

Our friendship’s not passive

We’ve lots of loyalty

This 2005 Valentine featured our grandson Vince

This 2005 Valentine featured our grandson Vince

On February 12, 1996, I was cleaning the bedroom and putting away laundry. When I put Monte’s jammies in his drawer I discovererd a package of pistachio nuts. Thinking I had stuck themthere a while ago and forgotten them, I took them and opened them, having a wonderful snack.

When Monte came in later I asked him if he wanted one.

“I can’t get away with anything,” he said. “ I never thought you would be in that drawer in these two days.”

I had discovered my Valentine’s Day gift from him. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPistachio Day is February 26, 2015. To celebrate this event take the following 4-question quiz:

  1. What queen loved pistachios so much she demanded the entire region’s pistachio harvest be set aside for her?
  2. What makes pistachio’s good nutrition?
  3. In Iran, pistachios are known as the ______________ nut. In China, it’s called the _______________ Pistachios are also known as the _______________
  4. Pistachios are one of the oldest flowering nut trees, and are one of the only two nuts mentioned in the Bible (Genesis 43:11). Humans have eaten pistachio nuts for at least _____  years.

(Answers at the end of this post…)

991021-35EThe following was written for my younger sister Sally in 1998, but this year it could be sent to my daughter, who’s studying nursing:

Roses are massive

Violets are miniscule

Don’t you be passive

Do good in school

 And for my niece’s husband:

Roses are white

Violets are yellow

Just for tonight

Be a good fellow

This Valentine was probably created when my son Nolan was in kindergarten.

This Valentine was probably created when my son Nolan was in kindergarten.

What on earth can you write about my cousin, whose last name is Reebenacker?

 Roses are eye pleasers,

Sugared violets, lipsmackers

Love hugs are squeezers

As are the Reebenackers

 Written for my sister Nancy:

Roses are large

Violets are tiny

You aren’t a barge

But you are mighty

val 100214-2eAnd again, for my sister Sally:

Violets are scarce

Roses are more

This familly’s not sparse

  Rah,rah if your a Kilgore.

Now, the pistachio quiz answers:

  1. Perhaps a true royal nut, the Queen of Sheba loved pistachios. In fact, she demanded that the entire region’s pistachio harvest be set aside for her.
  2. Almost 90% of the fat found in pistachios is the healthy mono- and polyunsaturated fats. They are also a good source of fiber, providing 3 grams per serving—more than many types of whole fruit. You would have to eat two plums to get the same amount of fiber found in one serving of pistachios.
  3. Iran: “smiling nut”   China: “happy nut”   “green almond”
  4. 9000 years

More neat info on pistachios at http://www.pistachiohealthinstitute.org/consumer/about-pistachios/fun-facts/

ARS_pistachio

ADDITIONAL VALENTINE’S DAY READING:

Valentine’s Day—Children’s Stories & Poems

Valentine’s Day Photos & Quotes

11 Facts About Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day 2012: Special Poetry

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Valentine's Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Valentine Nostalgia

  1. Grace ( & Fred) Wells says:

    Well Carolyn, didn’t know of your poetic talents until now. Got a poem for the Wells family ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

