Messages in the Sand: A Farewell to Wallis Sands Beach, N. H.

Carolyn’s Online Magazine

MESSAGES IN THE SAND:

A FAREWELL TO WALLIS SANDS BEACH,

RYE, NEW HAMPSHIRE

It’s rough expressing final goodbyes. So it was when Monte and I traveled to New England in the autumn of 2013. I considered it was our last holiday there, so when we reached the beach of my childhood—Wallis Sands Beach—I  expressed my farewell in a tangible but fleeting way by making footprints in the sand and writing messages in the sand. And, like the sand castle left behind by a creative person, the incoming tide would erase the footprints and the message.

The tides of time continue on relentlessly.

The pictures below represent my expression of what I considered my last visit to the beach. Perhaps.

The first photo was taken at Hampton Beach, Hew Hampshire, where we stopped en route to Wallis Sands Beach. We sent greetings to our family and friends back home in Laurel Mountain Borough, Pennsylvania, and elsewhere in the United States and the world.

130921 IMG_1915E

Greetings from Laurel Mountain Borough, PA, to Wallis Sands Beach

Greetings from Laurel Mountain Borough, PA, to Wallis Sands Beach

I watched as the tide came in and the waves licked away this sand castle.

I watched as the tide came in and the waves licked away this sand castle.

I wrote my goodbye message...and waited for the tide to come in and erase it.

I wrote my goodbye message…and waited for the tide to come in and erase it.

We left the beach before the message was licked away.

We left the beach before the message was licked away.

ADDITIONAL READING IN CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS:

Wallis Sands Beach, New Hampshire (Sept. 2013)

Lighthouse Cruise on Narragansett Bay, Rhode Island

Warmth on New England Beaches

 

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in NEW ENGLAND, PHOTOGRAPHY, Photography photos, Wordpress photos, WORDPRESS PROMPTS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Messages in the Sand: A Farewell to Wallis Sands Beach, N. H.

  1. great interpretation of the challenge

    Like

Leave a Reply

