Winter Destination: Portsmouth, New Hampshire

  • Carolyn’s Online Magazine

WINTER DESTINATION:

PORTSMOUTH, NEW HAMPSHIRE

(AND OTHER NEW ENGLAND

SEACOAST TOWNS)

Item on my Bucket List: To spend 8-12 weeks on the New England Coast during the winter months. Part of that time will be spent in my hometown, Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

Apparently Trib Total Media staff writer Rex Rutkowski concurs. The headline on page F7 of the Sunday, January 18, 2015, Tribune-Review newspaper had no trouble getting my attention: Winter can be wonderful by the sea. The opening sentence kept my attention: Seacoast communities in the Northeast sometimes can be forgotten in winter. Portsmouth, N. H….

130924 IMG_3961E

The article was a rerun, originally published in the Tribune-Review hardcopy of  May 6, 2012. The online edition then included “glowing reviews” of Portsmouth:

  • Money magazine calls the historic working seaport one of “Top 10 Best Places to Live”
  • Outside magazine touts it as one of the “Top 20 Towns in America”
  • ForbesTraveler.com named it one of “America’s prettiest towns”
  • The National Trust for Historic Preservation (names it) as a “Distinctive Destination”
  • Named to the National Geographic Traveler’s list of the globe’s “Historic Places” — 26th in the world and sixth in the United States
  • Prevention Magazine lauded as “New Hampshire’s No. 1 Walking City,” can be taken in on foot

I posted my response to Rex Rutkowski’s 2012 article in CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS [the predecessor to this site, Carolyn’s Online Magazine (COMe). It was titled Destination: Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

View of the Congregational Church and bridges over the Piscataqua River, taken from the roof of the Rockingham Hotel

View of the Congregational Church and bridges over the Piscataqua River, taken from the roof of the Rockingham Hotel

Rex Rutkowski’s two articles are adjusted for seasonal application. The January 18th reprint includes some items not in the original May 2012 article:

  • The Portsmouth Fire + Ice Festival
  • Winter Wine Festival
  • Ice Skating on Puddle Dock at Strawbery Banke

The May 2012 article includes the following not in the January 18th article:

  • Prescott Park Arts Festival
  • Harbor and island cruises
  • Portsmouth Harbour Trail
  • Hampton Beach

 Several items Rex Rutkowski omitted, although I realize he has space limitations:

My husband Monte, in red hat, walks over Memorial Bridge

My husband Monte, in red hat, walks over Memorial Bridge

We waited whe the bridge lifted to let a tall boat go through

We waited whe the bridge lifted to let a tall boat go through

Gold Lions guard the historic Rockingham Hotel

Gold Lions guard the historic Rockingham Hotel

Free hugs in downtown Portsmouth

Free hugs in downtown Portsmouth

My New England Category in CAROLYN’S COMPOSITIONS contains articles on the Northeast Coast, including the following two on Portsmouth:

I want to thank Rex Rutkowski for bringing Portsmouth, New Hampshire, to the forefront.

NOTE: I want to apologize to Rex Rutkowski for thinking he made an error, when in truth it was I who did so. In each of his articles I believed he spelled Strawbery Banke wrong—shouldn’t it be spelled Strawberry Banke? I looked it up—use of one “r” is correct, according to the Strawbery Bank official website.

My husband Monte went to his maps and discovered the word spelled with only one “r.” I then pulled up my post, Destination: Portsmouth, New Hampshire to correct my spelling error, and found to my amazement that I’d used only one “r.”

Yet, in my mind (and Monte’s mind) it had 2 “r”s. I stand corrected and thank Rex Rutkowski for bringing our mistake into line with reality.

About carolyncholland

In several if my nine lives I have been a medical lab technician and a human service worker specializing in child day care, adoptions and family abuse. Currently I am a photo/journalist/writer working on a novel and a short story. My general writings can be viewed at www.carolyncholland.wordpress.com. My novel site is www.intertwinedlove.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in NEW ENGLAND, TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Destination: Portsmouth, New Hampshire

  1. Pingback: Free Hugs & Gold Lions in Portsmouth, N. H. | CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

  2. Pingback: Destination: Portsmouth, New Hampshire | CAROLYN'S COMPOSITIONS

Leave a Reply

